Would you Rather…? Book Tag!

I saw my lovely fellow Bookaholic Alliance blogger Demmi Writist post this on her blog which you should really check out, and I decided to give it a try for myself!

1. Read only series or standalones?

Ooooh, hm. As much as I love series (the Harry Potter series is my Bible), right now standalones are much better for me. I haven’t been able to really get stuck into a series and the last one I read (Throne of Glass) felt like it was dragging on.

2. Read only female or male authors?

I think I would read only female authors. I have found that I prefer the female voice over the male voice, although some of my favorite books are by male authors. I continually find myself gravitating towards female authors, though.

3. Shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

I miss Barnes and Noble! I wish we had them here in the UK! I used to really love Barnes and Noble, but right now I am going to go with Amazon. My favorite section at Barnes and Noble used to be the Bargain book section, and I would pick up loooooads of books and notebooks and journals and kits, and Waterstones doesn’t really have a bargain book section! It makes me so sad. So, I have to say Amazon.

4. All books become movies or TV Shows?

I think television shows. All of my favorite adaptations have been television shows or miniseries. The characters have more time to develop, establish relationships, and there’s more time to devote to all the little details and side stories.

5. Read 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

Ummm, five books a week!!!

6. Be a professional reviewer or author?

Oooh, this is a tough one. I love being told stories, but I also feel a hole sometimes for a story that I *want* to be told — and no one has told it! Then I feel a responsibility to tell it… I think be a professional reviewer, though. I think that there would be less stress.

7. Only read your top 20 favorite books over and over or always read new ones that you haven’t read before? 

I think I would prefer to re-read my top 20 favorite books. I love re-reading books! My husband doesn’t understand this, but I feel like it is visiting an old friend, and the message I get from the book every single time I pick it up is much different than my previous impression. For example, as I’ve grown older, my experience of To Kill a Mockingbird has changed. When I first read it, the story was about Scout. Then I read it, and it was all about Atticus, and then I read it and experienced the story as a community still strugglng with the aftershocks of the Civil War. I love re-reading and finding new things!

8. Be a librarian or book seller?

I think I would prefer to be a librarian. I think I would love helping people uncover old classics, and helping people research and find the resources they need.

9. Only read your favorite genre or every genre except your favorite?

I would love to only read my favorite genre! I mean, I love loads of genres so it would be difficult to pick just one, but could I just be broad and go with fiction??

10. Only read physical books or ebooks?

Oooh, can’t I choose both? I love physical books. I have hundreds of them, but a majority of them are back in California. I have been leaning towards ebooks lately, though, because my kindle takes up so much less space in my bag, and then my husband and I don’t have to worry about a place to store the books… So, right now it’s ebooks. Once we get our own place, though, it will be physical books and I get my own wall with shelves full!

Feel free to participate in the “Would you rather?”! Please leave a comment if you do participate — I would love to read your responses as well!

2 thoughts on “Would you Rather…? Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

