Waiting on Wednesday 3/2/2016

My Waiting On Wednesday entry this week is The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury.

ForbiddenWish_BOM.inddAnd it’s not just because the cover is sumptuous. I mean, look at that. Isn’t that gorgeous?

Synopsis from Amazon:

When Aladdin discovers Zahra’s jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn’t seen in hundreds of years -a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra’s very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes. But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity- only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart? As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of Arabian Nights from acclaimed author Jessica Khoury.

Expected release date: 1 March 2016

It’s a fairy-tale retelling!

I love fairy tale retellings. I have a huge weakness for them. I think I’ve mentioned this before… I love seeing different takes on the same story. If there are several different film versions of one of my favorite books, I *have* to see every single one. Some days I go through Goodreads and look up fairy tale retellings and add a million to my wish list. For realises. I used to DVR Ovation’s Battle of the Nutcracker and sit and watch them all. I take things like this seriously.

I love the twist on this Aladdin story! I can’t wait to read it. It sounds so intriguing and so many of the ARC reviews have been really positive. There were a load of Arabian Nights associated books or retellings in 2015, and I’m glad to see this trend continue. There is so much that can be done with that collection of tales!

So, what are you waiting on? What can’t you want to get your hands on?

7 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday 3/2/2016

  1. The Charmed Reader February 3, 2016 / 2:18 pm

    I can’t wait to see what everyone thinks of this book! I don’t want to try it until I’ve read a few reviews because I was burned by the last Aladdin retelling I read. My WoW.

    Liked by 1 person

      • The Charmed Reader February 3, 2016 / 7:41 pm

        A Whole New World which was just a worse version of Disney’s Aladdin as a book instead of a cartoon.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Julie @ Retro Writer February 4, 2016 / 12:40 am

    I’m interested in this one as well. I also like Aladdin stories and retellings. I really enjoyed Khoury’s “Corpus” series…so I’m sure this one will be quite thrilling!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosyclovesy February 4, 2016 / 8:31 am

      I’m not familiar with any of her other works, so I will definitely have to check that out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

