Throwback Thursday 11/02/2016

I have such a special pick for Throwback Thursday this week!! Drumroll please…

The Princess Bride!

princessbSynopsis from Amazon:

Beautiful, flaxen-haired Buttercup has fallen for Westley, the farm boy, and when he departs to make his fortune, she vows never to love another. So, when she hears that his ship has been captured by the Dread Pirate Roberts (no survivors) her heart is broken. But her charms draw the attention of the relentless Prince Humperdinck who wants a wife and will go to any lengths to have Buttercup. So starts a fairy tale like no other, of fencing, poison, true love, hate, revenge, giants, bad men, good men, snakes, spiders, chases, escapes, lies, truths, passion and miracles, and a damn fine story.

 

Gosh, isn’t that cover gorgeous? This is the first book I ever owned that actually had a pull-out map. I was super impressed, and it set a high precedent.So, the Princess Bride. A staple film for kids who stay home sick from school. I swear it’s on EVERY DAY, or it was on every day I happened to be ill. Anywho, I saw it was an adaptation of a novel and checked it out from the library.

I loved it. I was glued to it. At this point, in my reading career, I was beginning to feel alienated by male authors, and Goldman captured my interest and told me a tale of love, adventure, riddles, revenge,  and, like the review says, a damn fine story overall.

The story of Westley and Buttercup is framed within a fictional abridgement of S. Morgenstern’s The Princess Bride. Confused? So was my husband when I was explaining to him why he absolutely needed to read this book.

So, William Goldman opens the book with an explanation that the story is an abridged version of a very old Florian author’s story, and he’s publishing the “good parts” version. He periodically interrupts the narrative to insert asides or “I saved you 90 pages of family history here”. So, now that I have that explained…

THIS STORY. This story, you guys, it’s the best. The romance is amazing. Westley is to die for. The story is so fantastical, so inventive, so intriguing — I wanted it to go on forever.

And, if you think that Inigo Montoya in the film had an interesting story — his backstory is thrilling. Fezzik’s story is thrilling. THE WHOLE THING IS THRILLING.

I CAN’T CAPSLOCK THIS BOOK ENOUGH.

The whole thing is charming and funny and witty and so completely captivating. It’s one of my favorite love stories ever, and it’s a book I intend to replace since I left mine in California.

If it’s not on your bookshelf, check a copy out from the library so it can be there for a bit, or buy yourself a copy. It’s gorgeous, lush, amazing, and you won’t regret it.

Have you read the Princess Bride? Do you love it as much as I do, or do you completely disagree and hate it? What do you think?

Leave a Reply

