Throwback Thursday 10/3/2016

It’s Throwback Thursday! That means it’s time to feature a teen or YA relevant book that was published pre-2000.

I think it’s really important to consider titles published before YA seemed to blow up as a genre because there’s such an amazing trove of books that were in print and helped inspire the writers that we know and love today.

My choice today isn’t just one book… it’s its own genre of books…

Lurlene McDaniel books.

You know the ones. You can’t pick just one because they’re all so similar.

My high school library got a complete overhaul my sophmore and junior year of high school, and we got a grant to get loads of new books. They were switching over to AR books and needed help over the summer to do it, so I had a summer job for two years helping them do this. It was my first job.

Anywho, I remember stocking the shelves with like, 50 of these Lurlene McDaniel books. During the school year, that shelf would be completely empty and remain nearly empty because so many girls would check out every single book ALL THE TIME. They were popular.

My first Lurlene McDaniel read was “Til Death Do Us Part”, and I think I received it in a bookclub my mom had signed me up for.

Here’s the synopsis:

tilldeathNothing in April Lancaster’s future seems certain as she battles a brain tumor that doctors say is inoperable.  The hospital is the last place she would expect to find love –  until she meets Mark Gianni, a 21-year-old with a passion for car racing.  

Mark is handsome and charming, and he also has terminal Cystic Fibrosis. Despite initial reservations, the two quickly fall in love and plan to spend the rest of their lives together…no matter how long that may be.  When a sudden racing accident aggravates Mark’s condition,  April must make a decision that will change the course of her life forever.  

This is a heartbreaking story by  bestselling author Lurlene McDaniel that is perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars.

Reading this book was the first time that I had ever heard or read of cystic fibrosis, and it stuck in my head forever because it is described so vividly and graphically.

That’s the theme in these books, though: all of the main characters have some sort of disability or illness. They all struggle with mortality. I read that the author wrote these books as a way to deal with her son’s illness, which is great, but damn she wrote a lot of them! She has about 90 unique titles to her name.

So, if you loved The Fault in Our Stars, definitely track these titles down. They’re popular enough that they’re getting new releases all the time, and you can fallow Lurlene McDaniel on her website and on Goodreads.

So, have you read any Lurlene McDaniel books? Which ones? Are you inspired to go out and track them down?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s