Service Review: Book Box Club

A few months ago, I was overloaded on working overtime and I figured I may as well treat myself — I had been wanting a book subscription box for a while, and I was combing instagram eagerly every month to see the books and contents of all the different boxes as they arrived with their subscribers. I eventually decided that Book Box Club was the best pick for me.

First, let me explain a little bit about the subscription service. You can sign up month-to-month, with the option of skipping a month if the theme isn’t for you, or you can buy a subscription block of 3-months, or 6-months.

What drew me to this service is that they don’t stick with a particular genre. They may send out a fantasy book one month, a contemporary one the next, and a historical one next month. I like the variety and I feel like it makes the box more of a surprise.

So, what do they include in their boxes?

Every month you get a brand new book, either paperback or hardcover, with a signed bookplate by the author. It is gift-wrapped in really lovely silver paper with a blue and white string. Accompanying the book is an invitation to a club-members-only chat with the author. So, not only do you get to read a brand new book, but you get to ask the author any burning questions you may have right after!

The box also comes with about 4 bookish goodies. The goodies are not necessarily associated with the book, but they are certainly bookish! They are usually handcrafted and from small businesses, which I love.

For example, in the Schoolroom Scandals themed box, the book was “One of Us is Lying” by Karen M. McManus. Accompanying it was a spectacles ring by The Locket Library, sticky notes by Paper Pipit, a themed candle by Meraki Candles, a John Green quote pencil case by Book Box Club, a little jar of jelly beans, and a few bookish goodies supplied by Scholastic and Penguin Random House.

In the Spells & Remedies themed box, the book was “The Disappearances” by Emily Bain Murphy. The goodies included were Spells and Remedies themed bunting by The Literary Omnistore, a bookmark by Holly Grace Illustration, Hocus Focus tea by Bluebird Tea Company, Raven Boys themed soap by Just Fribble , and a bookish mirror by Moon Kestrel, one of the founding members of Book Box Club. There were also a few bookish goodies and samplers from Hot Key Books and Usborne Books.

I have found both boxes to be an extremely good value for the money spent, and I have used every single item included in the boxes. I have continued my subscription with Book Box Club and look forward to receiving more of their boxes in the future!

Do you subscribe to any book boxes? Which one?

One thought on “Service Review: Book Box Club

  1. erose1980 August 7, 2017 / 11:09 pm

    I’ve been thinking about trying out a book box club and I think I will. It all sounds like so much fun. I just love books so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

